Archive Information Sheet

Assistant Postmasters General



In April 1906, due to an increase in the number of questions being submitted for the Postmaster General's personal attention, Sydney Buxton (the then Postmaster General) wrote to the Prime Minister asking for assistance. The Earl of Granard, who was dealing with all Post Office business in the House of Lords, was asked to assist. The Earl agreed to help in any way he could, and this paved the way to the creation of a position of 'Assistant Postmaster General'. No salary was paid to the Earl of Granard.

In August 1909, a bill was introduced in Parliament to create the office of 'Post Office Parliamentary Secretary' (this title was changed to 'Assistant Postmaster General' in the final draft). The holder of this position would be entitled to sit in the House of Commons. The Bill received Royal Assent in October 1909, and the position of Assistant Postmaster General was officially created.

The first person to become Assistant Postmaster General was Sir Henry Norman, who was appointed on 3 January 1910. In 1922, Herbert Pike Pease resigned when a new government entered Parliament. There was no Assistant Postmaster General from that time until November 1924 when Viscount Wolmer was appointed. The office of Assistant Postmaster General ceased to exist in September 1969 when the Post Office Corporation was established

Date of appointment	Name
3 January 1910	Sir Henry Norman
21 February 1910	Captain Cecil W. Norton
31 May 1915	Herbert Pike Pease (resigned 1922)
13 November 1924	Viscount Wolmer (later Lord Wolmer)
8 July 1929	Samuel P. Viant
4 September 1931	H. Graham White
22 October 1932	Sir Ernest Bennett
7 December 1935	Sir Walter Womersley
25 October 1939	Captain Charles Waterhouse
3 March 1941	Allan Chapman
5 March 1942	Robert V. Grimston
May-June 1945	Sir William Ansthruther-Gray
10 August 1945	W. A. Burke
14 October 1947	C. R. Hobson

Assistant Postmasters General (contd.)



Date of appointment	Name
6 November 1951	L. D. Gammans
21 December 1955	C. J. M. Alport
18 January 1957	Kenneth Thompson
23 October 1959	Miss Mervyn Pike (the only woman to hold
	this position)
13 March 1963	Ray Mawby
19 October 1964	Joseph Slater

Sources

POST 58: Staff Nomination and Appointment 1737-1972

POST 59: Staff Establishments 1691-1983

POST 122: Registered Files, Minuted and Decentralised Papers 1895-1973

Portfolio: Postmasters General General Portfolios: Individual Postmasters General Portfolio: Assistant Postmasters General

The Royal Mail Archive Search Room at Freeling House is open Monday to Friday, 10.00am - 5.00pm, and until 7.00pm on Thursdays.

We are open selected Saturdays 10.00am - 5.00pm, please call or see our website for dates.

Please bring proof of identity to get an archive user card. In most cases there is no need to make an appointment, but please contact us in advance if you have any questions.

The Royal Mail Archive www.postalheritage.org.uk

Freeling House T +44 (0)20 7239 2570
Phoenix Place F +44 (0)20 7239 2576
LONDON Minicom +44 (0)20 7239 2572
WC1X 0DL info@postalheritage.org.uk