President's Prize for Research 1976-date

This is awarded at the discretion of the President and the Past Presidents to an author who has done most to further the research and advancement of British Philately.

It appears to have originally been something of a "lifetime achievement award", but after a period in which the award largely fell into abeyance, from 2000 it has generally been awarded to recently published books or articles that demonstrate in-depth research.

The award is NOT restricted to GBPS members.


Year Winner Subject (where recorded)
1976 Robson Lowe Not recorded
1977 W.A.Wiseman Not recorded
1978 Not awarded
1979 Harold Fisher Not recorded
1980 Not awarded
1981 Not awarded
1982 Not awarded
1983 Not awarded
1984 Not awarded
1985 Not awarded
1986 Not awarded
1987 Reg Powell Not recorded
1988 Michael Gould Not recorded
1989 Mike Jackson Downey Heads
1990 Not awarded
1991 Douglas Muir Not recorded
1992 The Lord Spens and Gerry Bater Not recorded
1993 Michael Astley King Edward VII issues
1994 Not awarded
1995 Not awarded
1996 Harry Dagnall Not recorded
1997 Gerry Bater
(awarded posthumously)
Not recorded
1998 Not in Newsletter
1999 Ken Statham Line-engraved 1d and 2d
2000 David Rowse Book: Rainbow Trials
2001 Phil Kenton (and also in memory of Harry Parsons) Book: Early Routings of the Royal Mail Steam Packet Company 1842‑1879
2002 Peter Worsfold Book: King George VI Low Value Definitive Stamps
2003 Toby Messenger Articles (GBJ): The first paper contract for QV Line-Engraved Stamps
2004 Graeme Webster Article (GBJ): KGV Seahorses - Trial Impressions
2005 Vincent West Book: The Post Office and the Colleges
2006 Bryan Kearsley Book: Discovering Seahorses
2007 Bob Galland and Dick Armstrong Articles (GBJ): Returned Letter Wrappers
2008 John Gowland Articles (GBJ): Perforation of the Early Photogravure Low Value Stamps
2009 Douglas Muir Article (GBJ): Downey Head Printed Off-set - A Mystery Explained
2010 Terry Pusterla Book: King Edward VII One Penny Manual
2011 Not awarded
2012 Peter Shaw Articles (GSM): Wilding Castle Issues 1955‑58
2013 Not awarded
2014 Edward Klempka Book: The Dollis Hill Find
2015 Not awarded
2016 Douglas Muir Book: King George V Printing Plates 1911‑34
2017 David Escott Book: Perforation Fingerprints
2018 Tom Slemons Book: Suffolk Postal History & Postal Markings to 1844
2019 Alan Druce Book: Perkins Bacon Great Britain Line-Engraved Postage Stamp Printing 1840 to 1846
2020 Colin Tabeart Book: British Long Distance Mail Packets 1793‑1815
2021 James Grimwood‑Taylor Book: International Postal Reforms
2022 Peter Young Book: The Inks of De La Rue & Co.
2023 Ian Harvey Book: Books of Stamps with Invalidated Panes
& articles in the GBJ and Newsletter